In order to map out how my documentary is going to sound I’ve made a storyboard to guide my¬†editing process.

I have had to consider the audience to which I am pitching my idea to make sure that the style of the documentary suits that of Radio 1.

The storyboard below is what I am using as a guide for my rough cut and is likely to change throughout the editing process:

00:00
Music hard in at the start to captivate the audience (mood appropriate track)

images

Montage of most hard hitting clips, one from each interviewee to have range of voices

images

Introduction with presenters voice (me), explaining what the documentary is about, why it’s relevant to the audience, and why it’s current

images

Cue into Melanie’s story. Long clip of her explaining what happened and what she went through

images

Voice piece linking the end of Melanie’s story to Claire Donovan

images

Claire Donovan explaining what meningitis actually is, what it does to your body and why it’s targeting young people

images

Link to Danny’s story. What meningitis is capable of and the devastation it can cause

images

Danny’s story

images

Voice piece explaining that campaigning is taking place

images

What campaigning is happening using clips of Clare Mills and Jemma Pressman

images

But what more can be done?

images

More clips from Clare Mills and Jemma Pressman

images

Conclusion from presenter and links to social media, blog, and helplines
07:00

Throughout the whole documentary I will be using mood appropriate music and changing this regularly in keeping with a Radio 1 style story.  All of the music I use will be royalty free and any copyright attributions will be acknowledged in the paperwork submitted alongside this documentary.

Featured image credit: curtis.kennington

